Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-11-12 - 7:12 p.m.

God Bless America

Short version: The meeting was. Not horrible, not fabulous. Friday was awesome, though. We went to Kyoto and got to see all of these temples, and I took tons of pictures. (And I got to spend way too much quality time with my engineer, which amused the hell out of Ebie.) Later Friday night, Ebie and I went to dinner with a couple of the Japanese guys and of a couple of the other engineers (yes, including "mine"). Afterwards, we went to the top of this really tall building which had a rooftop observation deck (complete with mist, music, and a light show) and got to see the spectacular view of Osaka's skyline. You know how in a normal American city, you see the skyline, and then it flattens out into nothing? Well, Osaka's skyline doesn't end. Lights and buildings and skyscrapers for 360 degrees as far as I could see. Awesome. And after all of that I went to the hotel bar with a couple of people, and one of Martine's least favorite people bought me a beer. Heh. It was interesting to hang out with these people and here a different perspective on all of the political bullshit I normally listen to. (Which is not to say that one side contains more bullshit than another...)

Saturday I flew back, and through the magic of time travel, arrived before I left. JB actually remembered to pick me up, which is good. I know that Ex is back in town, and she hasn't mentioned that to me, which is bad. Sunday, I went out to lunch and a movie with Holden's brother and that guy Cal, which I'm sort of ambivalent about. Some major drama went down in my house while I was gone, which I think will result in both good and bad, but mosly I'm just glad that I got to stay out of it.

I'm still a little jet-lagged, which meant that work sucked today. Mental note: get some more melatonin from Holden tonight.

I'm supposed to email my engineer, but because I'm a dork, I haven't done it yet. I think Selena and Holden are a bit sick of me referring to "My good friend [name deleted]." Well, either they're really sick of it, or they're horribly amused by it. At least I admit that I'm a dork, I guess.

-Diana, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!